Skip to main content


Graduate Studies Awards

UC Davis Graduate Studies offers several awards recognizing exceptional achievements in our graduate education community.  

Dissertation Awards:
The Allen G. Marr Prize
The Allen G. Marr Prize was established in honor of Allen G. (Jerry) Marr's 20 year contribution as Dean of Graduate Studies and Research and his commitment to the highest standards of scholarship and professional ethics. Each year the competition is in different discipline areas. The fields of competition for the 2021 award are Biological Sciences, Humanities and Fine Arts.

Award: (1) prize from Graduate Studies and there will be (2) nominees for the CGS/ProQuest award
Details of how to apply can be found in the call for nomination and nomination form.
Deadline: Extended to March 8, 2021

The Max Kleiber Prize
This prize was established to honor the sixty year career of Professor Max Kleiber at the University of California, Davis, in recognition of his outstanding success in elucidating metabolic relationships in intact animals. The award is made to a nominee who best represents the characteristics and high standards of scholastics and professional ethics that guided Professor Kleiber’s career. The dissertation must involve original work that makes an unusually significant contribution to one or a combination of the areas of biochemistry, nutrition, or physiology. 
Award: (1) prize
Details of how to apply
Deadline: Extended to March 8, 2021

The Loren D. Carlson Prize in Physiology
The Loren D. Carlson Prize in Physiology honors the contributions of Loren D. Carlson, former Chair of the Physiology Graduate Group. The $3,000 annual prize honors one student in the Molecular, Cellular, and Integrative Physiology Graduate Group who has demonstrated "scholarly achievement and promise for teaching and research." To be eligible, students must have advanced to candidacy by June of the award year, or completed their Ph.D. the year prior. This award is by faculty nomination only. Please submit a nomination letter and a copy of the candidate’s dissertation or other evidence of scholarly achievement, such as pdfs of published papers.
Award: (1) $3,000 prize
Details of how to apply

The Zuhair A. Munir Award for Best Doctoral Dissertation in Engineering 
The College of Engineering established this annual award in 1999 to honor the student who has submitted the best doctoral dissertation and to publicize some of the outstanding research conducted in the College. This award honors former Dean of the College, Zuhair A. Munir, who led the College from 2000 to 2002 and acted as its Associate Dean for Graduate Studies for 20 years. This Award will not only honor the individual who submitted the best doctoral dissertations within the College of Engineering and publicize their exemplary research, but also acknowledges the mentorship of their major professor.   
Award: (1) $1,000 prize
Details of how to apply 

The John E. Kinsella Prize
The College of Agricultural and Environmental Sciences (CA&ES) has established the Kinsella Memorial Prize in honor of late Dean and Professor John E. Kinsella.  The award will be given to an outstanding individual who submits their Ph.D. dissertation to Graduate Studies between March 7, 2020 and February 26, 2021. The major professor of the recipient must have an appointment in the College of Agricultural and Environmental Sciences.  Each graduate group/program may submit one nomination and each will be judged on the quality and originality of the work, the multidisciplinary impact of the research and, the importance of the research to the college’s mission to serve agriculture, the environment, and human health and development.
Award: (1) $3,500 prize
Details of how to apply

Outstanding Graduate Student Teaching Awards
This award recognizes the contributions of graduate students to teaching and learning at UC Davis and sponsored by Graduate Studies.  In honoring graduate students who excel at teaching we hope to inspire both students and professors, to give increased attention to the educational process and remind the campus that teaching is central to the university’s mission.
Award: (8-10) $500 prizes
Details of how to apply

Award for Excellence in Postdoctoral Research:
This award is offered to recognize the vital role that Postdoctoral Scholars play in maintaining the reputation of excellent research at the University of California, Davis.  
Award: (2) $1,000 prizes
Details on how to apply