Physics

About the Program

Learn More About the Program

Students gain advanced knowledge of classical physics, quantum mechanics, and statistical mechanics. Students graduate with the qualitative and quantitative skills necessary for applying physics understanding to professional research and teaching in physics.

Degree Type
Departmentally-Based Graduate Program
Degrees Offered
M.S. Plan I
M.S. Plan II
Ph.D. Plan B
Lead Dean

College of Letters and Science

Major Code
GPHY
Exceptions
S/U Exception

Admissions and Fellowship Information

Admission Deadlines
General: Jan 15, 2022
Space Available: Jun 1, 2022
Internal Fellowship Deadlines
Prospective Student Fellowship: Jan 15, 2022
Continuing Student Fellowship: Jan 15, 2022

Program Contact Information

Primary Program Contacts

Graduate Program Coordinator

Program Coordinator
Lenna Crabbe-Charlesworth
(530) 752-1501 | ljcrabbe@ucdavis.edu

Graduate Program Chair

Graduate Program Chair
Rajiv Singh
(530) 752-4710 | rrpsing@ucdavis.edu

Department Chair
Rena Zieve
(530) 754-9836 | rjzieve@ucdavis.edu

Additional Contacts

Program Contacts

Advisor: General
Michael Mulhearn
Physics
(530) 754-7226 | mjmulhearn@ucdavis.edu

Advisor: Primary Contact
Rajiv Singh
Physics
(530) 752-4710 | rrpsing@ucdavis.edu

Advisor: Admissions Only
Jaroslav Trnka
Physics
(609) 865-6198 | trnka@ucdavis.edu

Advisor: General
Dong Yu
Physics
(530) 554-1630 | donyu@ucdavis.edu

Graduate Studies Contacts

Internal Fellowship Analyst
Heidi West
(530) 754-9473 | hewest@ucdavis.edu

External Fellowship Analyst
Yvette Garcia
ycgarcia@ucdavis.edu