Plant Biology

About the Program

Learn More About the Program

The Plant Biology Graduate Group at UC Davis offers interdisciplinary training in plant biology. The vertical organization of research in the group allows students to study plants at levels of inquiry ranging from molecules to populations. Although research training is focused primarily on acquiring basic knowledge, a diverse plant science community on campus allows opportunities for exposure to and participation in research with applied goals.

Degree Type
Interdisciplinary Graduate Group
Degrees Offered
M.S. Plan I
M.S. Plan II
Ph.D. Plan B
Lead Dean

College of Biological Sciences

Major Code
GPBI
Exceptions
QE Exception: No outside member needed

Admissions and Fellowship Information

Admission Deadlines
General: Dec 1, 2021
Space Available: Jun 1, 2022
Internal Fellowship Deadlines
Prospective Student Fellowship: Dec 1, 2021
Continuing Student Fellowship: Jan 15, 2022

Program Contact Information

Primary Program Contacts

Graduate Program Chair

Graduate Group Chair
Stacey Harmer
(530) 752-8101 | slharmer@ucdavis.edu

Additional Contacts

Program Contacts

Advisor: Admissions and Primary Contact
Luca Comai
Plant Biology
(530) 752-8485 | lcomai@ucdavis.edu

Advisor: General
Judy Jernstedt
Plant Sciences
jjernstedt@ucdavis.edu

Advisor: General
Arnold Bloom
Plant Sciences
(530) 752-1743 | ajbloom@ucdavis.edu

Advisor: General
Kenneth Shackel
Plant Sciences
(530) 752-0928 | kashackel@ucdavis.edu

Advisor: General
Abhaya Dandekar
Plant Sciences
(530) 752-7784 | amdandekar@ucdavis.edu

Advisor: General
Neelima Sinha
Plant Biology
(530) 754-8441 | nrsinha@ucdavis.edu

Advisor: General
Eduardo Blumwald
Plant Sciences
(530) 752-4640 | eblumwald@ucdavis.edu

Advisor: General
Dan Kliebenstein
Plant Sciences
(530) 754-7775 | kliebenstein@ucdavis.edu

Advisor: General
Venkatesan Sundaresan
Plant Biology
(530) 754-9677 | sundar@ucdavis.edu

Advisor: General
Stacey Harmer
Plant Biology
(530) 752-8101 | slharmer@ucdavis.edu

Advisor: General
Marie Jasieniuk
Plant Sciences
(530) 752-8166 | mjasien@ucdavis.edu

Advisor: General
Diane Beckles
Plant Sciences
(530) 754-4779 | dmbeckles@ucdavis.edu

Advisor: General
Barbara Blanco-Ulate
Plant Sciences
(530) 752-9690 | bblanco@ucdavis.edu

Advisor: General
Georgia Drakakaki
Plant Sciences
(530) 752-1664 | gdrakakaki@ucdavis.edu

Advisor: General
Philipp Zerbe
Plant Biology
(530) 754-9789 | pzerbe@ucdavis.edu

Advisor: General
Nitzan Shabek
Plant Biology
(530) 752-8187 | nshabek@ucdavis.edu

Graduate Studies Contacts

Internal Fellowship Analyst
Heidi West
(530) 754-9473 | hewest@ucdavis.edu