Microbiology

About the Program

Learn More About the Program

Students gain advanced knowledge of general microbiology; microbial ecology; microbial physiology; microbial genetics; molecular mechanisms of microbial regulation and pathogenesis; immunology; virology; and recombinant DNA technology. Students graduate with the qualitative and quantitative skills necessary for professional research and teaching in microbiology.

Degree Type
Interdisciplinary Graduate Group
Degrees Offered
M.S. Plan I
Ph.D. Plan B
Lead Dean

School of Medicine

Major Code
GMIC
Exceptions
QE Exception: No outside member needed

Admissions and Fellowship Information

Admission Deadlines
General: Dec 15, 2021
Space Available: Jun 1, 2022
Internal Fellowship Deadlines
Prospective Student Fellowship: Dec 15, 2021
Continuing Student Fellowship: Jan 15, 2022

Program Contact Information

Primary Program Contacts

Graduate Program Coordinator

Program Coordinator
Karryn Doyle
(530) 752-0262 | mgg@ucdavis.edu

Graduate Program Chair

Graduate Group Chair
Renée Tsolis
(530) 754-8497 | rmtsolis@ucdavis.edu

Additional Contacts

Program Contacts

Advisor: General
Andreas Baumler
Med:Medical Microbiology & Imm
530-754-7225 | ajbaumler@ucdavis.edu

Advisor: General
Angela Gelli
Med:Pharmacology
(530) 754-6446 | acgelli@ucdavis.edu

Advisor: General
Su-Ju Lin
Microbiology & Molec Genetics
(530) 754-6081 | slin@ucdavis.edu

Advisor: General
Rebecca Parales
Microbiology & Molec Genetics
(530) 754-5233 | reparales@ucdavis.edu

Advisor: Primary Contact
Stefan Rothenburg
Med:Medical Microbiology & Imm
rothenburg@ucdavis.edu

Advisor: Admissions Only
Lark Schneider
Vm: Pathology, Micro, & Immun
(530) 752-2946 | lcoffey@ucdavis.edu

Advisor: General
Barbara Shacklett
Med:Medical Microbiology & Imm
(530) 752-6785 | blshacklett@ucdavis.edu

Advisor: General
Ellen Sparger
Vm: Medicine & Epidemiology
(530) 754-8461 | eesparger@ucdavis.edu

Advisor: General
Renée Tsolis
Med:Medical Microbiology & Imm
(530) 754-8497 | rmtsolis@ucdavis.edu