Integrative Pathobiology

About the Program

Learn More About the Program

Effective Fall 2015, the Comparative Pathology graduate group has been renamed Integrative Pathobiology. Students gain advanced knowledge of the causes and nature of disease processes in animals and humans at the molecular, cellular, tissue, organ and organ systems level. Students also gain advanced knowledge of tissue structure and function, cellular mechanisms of disease and organ systems response to disease. Students graduate with the qualitative and quantitative skills to design and interpret experiments relating to pathological processes in a variety of animal species for careers in comparative and translational veterinary medicine and medicine. Successful completion of the GGIP program leads to either a master of science (MS) or doctor of philosophy (PhD) degree. Students applying to this program have varied backgrounds. Some hold professional degrees (i.e., DVM, MD or DDS) while others apply after completion of an undergraduate degree. Students without a professional degree are admitted if they have exceptionally strong interests and backgrounds in basic biomedical sciences. The Integrative Pathobiology Graduate Group at UC Davis is committed to cultivating an environment of diversity. The faculty of GGIP believe that diversity strengthens research.

Degree Type
Interdisciplinary Graduate Group
Degrees Offered
M.S. Plan I
Ph.D. Plan B
Lead Dean

School of Veterinary Medicine

Major Code
GIPB
Exceptions
QE Exception: No outside member needed

Admissions and Fellowship Information

Admission Deadlines
General: Dec 1, 2021
Space Available: Mar 1, 2022
Internal Fellowship Deadlines
Prospective Student Fellowship: Dec 1, 2021
Continuing Student Fellowship: Jan 15, 2022

Program Contact Information

Primary Program Contacts

Graduate Program Coordinator

Program Coordinator
Erin Kent
530-752-3737 | eckent@ucdavis.edu

Graduate Program Chair

Graduate Group Chair
Sara Thomasy
smthomasy@ucdavis.edu

Additional Contacts

Program Contacts

Advisor: General
Xinbin Chen
Vm: Surg/Rad Science
(530) 754-8404 | xbchen@ucdavis.edu

Advisor: General
Carrie Finno
Vm: Population Hlth & Reprod
(530) 752-2739 | cjfinno@ucdavis.edu

Advisor: Primary Contact
Paramita Ghosh
Med:Urologic Surgery
(916) 734-7805 | paghosh@ucdavis.edu

Advisor: General
Kevin Keel
Vm: Pathology, Micro, & Immun
(530) 752-2941 | mkkeel@ucdavis.edu

Advisor: General
Su Hao Lo
Med:Biochem & Molecular Med
(916) 734-3656 | shlo@ucdavis.edu

Advisor: General
Lisa Miller
Vm: Anat Physio & Cell Biology
(530) 754-7546 | lmiller@ucdavis.edu

Advisor: Admissions Only
Robert Rebhun
Vm: Surg/Rad Science
(530) 754-5028 | rbrebhun@ucdavis.edu

Advisor: General
Lark Schneider
Vm: Pathology, Micro, & Immun
(530) 752-2946 | lcoffey@ucdavis.edu

Advisor: General
Woutrina Smith
Vm: Medicine & Epidemiology
(530) 754-0119 | wasmith@ucdavis.edu

Advisor: General
Joshua Stern
Vm: Deans Office
(530) 752-2957 | jstern@ucdavis.edu

Advisor: General
Jeffrey Stott
Vm: Pathology, Micro, & Immun
(530) 752-2543 | jlstott@ucdavis.edu

Advisor: General
Nam Tran
Med:Pathology & Lab Medicine
(530) 752-8471 | nktran@ucdavis.edu

Advisor: General
Renée Tsolis
Med:Medical Microbiology & Imm
(530) 754-8497 | rmtsolis@ucdavis.edu

Advisor: General
Natalia Vapniarsky Arzi
Vm: Pathology, Micro, & Immun
vapniarsky@ucdavis.edu

Advisor: General
Joie Watson
Vm: Medicine & Epidemiology
(530) 754-5336 | jlwatson@ucdavis.edu

Advisor: General
Kevin Woolard
Vm: Pathology, Micro, & Immun
(530) 752-2235 | kdwoolard@ucdavis.edu