Entomology

About the Program

Learn More About the Program

Students gain advanced knowledge of insect physiology; insecticide toxicology; ecology; evolution; behavior; plant-insect interactions; biological control; integrated pest management; chemical ecology; molecular biology; olfaction; demography; apiculture; systematics; arthropod-borne diseases of plants and animals; and medical entomology. Students graduate with the qualitative and quantitative skills necessary for professional research and teaching in the integration of basic and applied aspects of insect sciences.

Degree Type
Departmentally-Based Graduate Program
Degrees Offered
M.S. Plan I
M.S. Plan II
Ph.D. Plan B
Lead Dean

College of Agriculture and Environmental Studies

Major Code
GENT

Admissions and Fellowship Information

Admission Deadlines
General: Jan 5, 2022
Internal Fellowship Deadlines
Prospective Student Fellowship: Jan 5, 2022
Continuing Student Fellowship: Jan 15, 2022

Program Contact Information

Primary Program Contacts

Graduate Program Coordinator

Program Coordinator
Theresa Garcia
(530) 754-9506 | tgarcia@ucdavis.edu

Graduate Program Chair

Graduate Program Chair
Joanna Chiu
(530) 752-1839 | jcchiu@ucdavis.edu

Department Chair
Steven Nadler
(530) 752-2121 | sanadler@ucdavis.edu

Additional Contacts

Program Contacts

Advisor: Admissions and Primary Contact
Joanna Chiu
Entomology/Nematology
(530) 752-1839 | jcchiu@ucdavis.edu

Advisor: General
Richard Karban
Entomology/Nematology
(530) 752-2800 | rkarban@ucdavis.edu

Advisor: General
Jay Rosenheim
Entomology/Nematology
(530) 752-4395 | jarosenheim@ucdavis.edu

Advisor: General
Louie Yang
Entomology/Nematology
(530) 754-3261 | lhyang@ucdavis.edu