Education (Ph.D.)

About the Program

Learn More About the Program

Our Ph.D. program critically engages students in contemporary issues that impact education research, policy and practice. Emphasizing collaboration, the program is an interdisciplinary graduate group that draws its faculty from diverse fields of education, humanities, social science, physical and biological sciences, mathematics, and medicine, and engages with key campus centers and programs, such as the M.I.N.D. Institute and the Poverty Center. Graduates of our program gain deep knowledge of educational theory and practice related to strengthening schools and other educational settings. Our close proximity to California’s state capital of Sacramento also affords students a rich set of opportunities and networks for influencing education policy.

Degree Type
Interdisciplinary Graduate Group
Degrees Offered
Ph.D. Plan B
Lead Dean

School of Education

Major Code
GEDP
Exceptions
QE Exception: No outside member needed

Admissions and Fellowship Information

Admission Deadlines
General: Dec 15, 2022
Internal Fellowship Deadlines
Prospective Student Fellowship: Dec 15, 2022
Continuing Student Fellowship: Jan 15, 2023

Program Contact Information

Primary Program Contacts

Graduate Program Coordinator

Program Coordinator
Mary Reid
(530) 752-7259 | mmreid@ucdavis.edu

Program Coordinator
Briana Rodriguez
(530) 752-4665 | barrodriguez@ucdavis.edu

Graduate Program Chair

Graduate Group Chair
Danny Martinez
(530) 752-9749 | dcmar@ucdavis.edu

Additional Contacts

Program Contacts

Advisor: Primary Contact
Darnel Degand
Education
(530) 752-5876 | ddegand@ucdavis.edu

Advisor: General
Jennifer Higgs
Education
(530) 752-9311 | jmhiggs@ucdavis.edu

Advisor: Admissions Only
Paco Martorell
Education
(530) 752-3353 | pmartorell@ucdavis.edu

Advisor: General
Alexis Patterson
Education
(530) 752-8675 | adpatterson@ucdavis.edu

Graduate Studies Contacts

Internal Fellowship Analyst
Heidi West
(530) 754-9473 | hewest@ucdavis.edu

External Fellowship Analyst
Yvette Garcia
ycgarcia@ucdavis.edu