Computer Science

About the Program

Learn More About the Program

Students gain advanced knowledge of algorithms; computational biology; computer architecture; computer graphics and visualization; computer systems design; database systems; computer security; computer networks; program specifications and verification; programming languages and compilers; parallel and distributed systems; operating systems; performance evaluation; scientific computation; and software engineering. Students graduate with the qualitative and quantitative skills necessary for professional research and teaching in computer science.

Degree Type
Interdisciplinary Graduate Group
Degrees Offered
M.S. Plan I / B.S. Integrated
M.S. Plan II / B.S. Integrated
M.S. Plan I
M.S. Plan II
Ph.D. Plan B
Lead Dean

College of Engineering

Major Code
GCSI
Exceptions
QE Exception: No outside member needed

Admissions and Fellowship Information

Admission Deadlines
General: Dec 15, 2023
Internal Fellowship Deadlines
Prospective Student Fellowship: Dec 15, 2023
Continuing Student Fellowship: Jan 15, 2024

Program Contact Information

Primary Program Contacts

Graduate Program Coordinator

Graduate Program Coordinator
Alyssa Bates
(530) 752-7893 | csgradadvising@ucdavis.edu

Graduate Program Coordinator
Jessica Stoller
(530) 752-7224 | csgradadvising@ucdavis.edu

Graduate Program Chair

Graduate Group Chair
Michael Neff
(530) 754-9510 | mpneff@ucdavis.edu

Additional Contacts

Program Contacts

Advisor: General
Matthew Bishop
Computer Science
(530) 752-8060 | mabishop@ucdavis.edu

Advisor: General
Robert Faris
Computer Science
(530) 754-0779 | rwfaris@ucdavis.edu

Advisor: General
Norman Matloff
Computer Science
nsmatloff@ucdavis.edu

Advisor: Primary Contact
Michael Neff
Computer Science
(530) 754-9510 | mpneff@ucdavis.edu

Advisor: General
Cindy Rubio Gonzalez
Computer Science
(530) 752-7069 | crubio@ucdavis.edu

Advisor: General
Mohammad Sadoghi Hamedani
Computer Science
(530) 752-4070 | msadoghi@ucdavis.edu

Advisor: General
Muhammad Zubair Shafiq
Computer Science
zshafiq@ucdavis.edu

Advisor: Admissions Only
Aditya Thakur
Computer Science
(530) 752-0434 | avthakur@ucdavis.edu

Advisor: General
Hao-Chuan Wang
Computer Science
(530) 752-7016 | hciwang@ucdavis.edu

Graduate Studies Contacts

Senior Academic Advisor
Brittney Dinelli
bjdinelli@ucdavis.edu