Animal Biology

About the Program

Learn More About the Program

Students gain advanced knowledge of animal biology from lipid modification and the interaction of the immune system with animal growth, to conservation of indigenous species, cloning and reproduction, and the interaction of animal behavior with genetic modification. Students graduate with the qualitative and quantitative skills necessary for professional research and teaching in integrated animal biology and animal agriculture.

Degree Type
Interdisciplinary Graduate Group
Degrees Offered
M.S. Plan I
M.S. Plan II
Ph.D. Plan B
Lead Dean

College of Agriculture and Environmental Studies


Admissions and Fellowship Information

Admission Deadlines
Priority: Jan 15, 2022
General: May 1, 2022
Space Available: Jun 1, 2022
Internal Fellowship Deadlines
Prospective Student Fellowship: Jan 15, 2022
Continuing Student Fellowship: Jan 15, 2022

Program Contact Information

Primary Program Contacts

Graduate Program Coordinator

Program Coordinator
Jennie Buse
(530) 752-2382 | abggc@ucdavis.edu

Graduate Program Chair

Graduate Group Chair
James Oltjen
(530) 752-5650 | jwoltjen@ucdavis.edu

Additional Contacts

Program Contacts

Advisor: General
Kristina Horback
Animal Science
kmhorback@ucdavis.edu

Advisor: General
Russ Hovey
Animal Science
(530) 752-1682 | rchovey@ucdavis.edu

Advisor: General
Jennifer Larsen
Vm: Molecular Bio Sciences
(530) 752-4738 | jalarsen@vmth.ucdavis.edu

Advisor: Primary Contact
Elizabeth Maga
Animal Science
(530) 752-5930 | eamaga@ucdavis.edu

Advisor: General
James Murray
Vm: Population Hlth & Reprod
(530) 752-1252 | jdmurray@ucdavis.edu

Advisor: Admissions Only
James Oltjen
Anr Animal Science
(530) 752-5650 | jwoltjen@ucdavis.edu

Advisor: General
Maurice Pitesky
Anr Vm Population Hlth&Reprod
(530) 752-3215 | mepitesky@ucdavis.edu

Advisor: General
Fabio Soares De Lima
Vm: Population Hlth & Reprod
(530) 752-7290 | falima@ucdavis.edu

Advisor: General
Anne Todgham
Animal Science
(530) 752-1897 | todgham@ucdavis.edu