Economics

About the Program

Learn More About the Program

Students gain advanced knowledge of modern economic theory, both in the areas of microeconomics and macroeconomics, and advanced proficiency in econometrics and quantitative methods. Students acquire in-depth knowledge of two fields of theoretical or empirical economics of particular interest to the candidate. Students graduate with the ability to address economic issues with the analytic and quantitative skills necessary for a successful academic or professional career in economics, business or government.

Degree Type
Departmentally-Based Graduate Program
Degrees Offered
M.A. Plan II
Ph.D. Plan B
Lead Dean

College of Letters and Science

Major Code
GECN

Admissions and Fellowship Information

Admission Deadlines
General: Dec 15, 2022
Internal Fellowship Deadlines
Prospective Student Fellowship: Dec 15, 2022
Continuing Student Fellowship: Jan 15, 2023

Program Contact Information

Primary Program Contacts

Graduate Program Coordinator

Program Coordinator
Stephanie Ivory
(530) 752-0743 | slivory@ucdavis.edu

Graduate Program Chair

Department Chair
Katheryn Russ
(530) 754-1544 | knruss@ucdavis.edu

Additional Contacts

Program Contacts

Advisor: General
Paul Bergin
Economics
(530) 752-0741 | prbergin@ucdavis.edu

Advisor: General
Andres Carvajal Escobar
Economics
530-752-9241 | acarvajal@ucdavis.edu

Advisor: General
Anujit Chakraborty
Economics
chakraborty@ucdavis.edu

Advisor: General
Katherine Eriksson
Economics
(530) 754-1533 | kaeriksson@ucdavis.edu

Advisor: Admissions and Primary Contact
Athanasios Geromichalos
Economics
(530) 752-0741 | ageromich@ucdavis.edu

Advisor: General
Marianne Page
Economics
(530) 554-4940 | mepage@ucdavis.edu

Advisor: General
David Rapson
Economics
dsrapson@ucdavis.edu

Advisor: General
Monica Singhal
Economics
(530) 754-1545 | msinghal@ucdavis.edu

Graduate Studies Contacts

Internal Fellowship Analyst
Heidi West
(530) 754-9473 | hewest@ucdavis.edu

External Fellowship Analyst
Yvette Garcia
ycgarcia@ucdavis.edu