Biostatistics

About the Program

Learn More About the Program

Students gain advanced knowledge of survival analysis; statistical methods for genetics, bioinformatics, epidemiology and environmental research; longitudinal data analysis; analysis of biological shapes and trajectories; generalized linear models, estimating equations, model selection and bioassay; and design for biological and medical studies. Students graduate with the qualitative and quantitative skills necessary for professional research and teaching in providing stochastic models and methods, algorithms and graphical tools for the analysis of data for a variety of life-sciences fields.

Degree Type
Interdisciplinary Graduate Group
Degrees Offered
M.S. Plan II
Ph.D. Plan C
Lead Dean

College of Letters and Science

Major Code
GBST

Admissions and Fellowship Information

Admission Deadlines
Priority: Dec 15, 2021
General: Mar 15, 2022
Space Available: May 15, 2022
Internal Fellowship Deadlines
Prospective Student Fellowship: Dec 15, 2021
Continuing Student Fellowship: Jan 15, 2022

Program Contact Information

Primary Program Contacts

Graduate Program Coordinator

Master's Program Coordinator
Andrea Carr
(530) 752-1547 | stat-grad-staff@ucdavis.edu

Graduate Program Coordinator
Sarah Driver
(530) 752-1532 | stat-grad-staff@ucdavis.edu

Graduate Program Chair

Graduate Group Chair
Danielle Harvey
(530) 752-8036 | djharvey@ucdavis.edu

Additional Contacts

Program Contacts

Advisor: Primary Contact
Christiana Drake
Statistics
(530) 715-0367 | cmdrake@ucdavis.edu

Advisor: Admissions Only
Danielle Harvey
Med:Public Health Sciences
(530) 752-8036 | djharvey@ucdavis.edu

Advisor: General
Jiming Jiang
Statistics
(530) 564-0639 | jimjiang@ucdavis.edu

Advisor: General
Miriam Nuno
Med:Public Health Sciences
mnuno@ucdavis.edu

Advisor: General
Lihong Qi
Med:Public Health Sciences
lhqi@ucdavis.edu

Advisor: General
Daniel Tancredi
Med:Pediatrics
(916) 734-3293 | djtancredi@ucdavis.edu

Graduate Studies Contacts

Internal Fellowship Analyst
Heidi West
(530) 754-9473 | hewest@ucdavis.edu

External Fellowship Analyst
Yvette Garcia
ycgarcia@ucdavis.edu