Agricultural and Environmental Chemistry

About the Program

Learn More About the Program

Students and faculty in our group use chemistry to solve important societal problems. Students gain advanced knowledge of analytical, organic, physical, inorganic, or biological chemistry, as well as the qualitative and quantitative skills necessary for professional research and teaching in pesticide and toxicant chemistry, food/meat/dairy chemistry, fiber and polymer chemistry, and enzymatic reactions and fermentation chemistry. Our graduates go on to careers in academia, state and federal government, industry, consulting, and more.

Degree Type
Interdisciplinary Graduate Group
Degrees Offered
M.S. Plan I
M.S. Plan II
Ph.D. Plan B
Lead Dean

College of Agriculture and Environmental Studies

Major Code
GACH

Admissions and Fellowship Information

Admission Deadlines
Priority: Jan 5, 2022
General: Jun 1, 2022
Internal Fellowship Deadlines
Prospective Student Fellowship: Jan 5, 2022
Continuing Student Fellowship: Jan 15, 2022

Program Contact Information

Primary Program Contacts

Graduate Program Coordinator

Program Coordinator
Katharine Moffat
kmoffat@ucdavis.edu

Graduate Program Chair

Graduate Group Chair
Cort Anastasio
(530) 754-6095 | canastasio@ucdavis.edu

Additional Contacts

Program Contacts

Advisor: General
Matt Hengel
Environmental Toxicology
(530) 752-2402 | mjhengel@ucdavis.edu

Advisor: General
Hildegarde Heymann
Viticulture & Enology
(530) 754-4816 | hheymann@ucdavis.edu

Advisor: General
Alyson Mitchell
Food Science & Technology
(530) 304-6618 | aemitchell@ucdavis.edu

Advisor: General
You-Lo Hsieh
Biological & Ag Engineering
(530) 752-0843 | ylhsieh@ucdavis.edu

Advisor: Admissions Only
Cort Anastasio
Land Air & Water Resources
(530) 754-6095 | canastasio@ucdavis.edu

Advisor: General
Peter Hernes
Land Air & Water Resources
(530) 754-4327 | pjhernes@ucdavis.edu

Advisor: General
Christopher Cappa
Civil & Environmental Engr
(530) 752-8180 | cdcappa@ucdavis.edu

Advisor: General
Tran Nguyen
Environmental Toxicology
(530) 752-5987 | tbn@ucdavis.edu

Mentor Eligible
Peter Green
Civil & Environmental Engr
(530) 752-8581 | pggreen@ucdavis.edu