Spanish

About the Program

Learn More About the Program

Students gain advanced knowledge of the history of the Spanish language; literary or linguistic scholarship; and competence in two other foreign languages. Students graduate with the qualitative and quantitative skills necessary for professional research and teaching in Spanish.

Degree Type
Departmentally-Based Graduate Program
Degrees Offered
M.A. Plan II
Ph.D. Plan B
Lead Dean

College of Letters and Science


Admissions and Fellowship Information

Admission Deadlines
General: Jan 15, 2022
Space Available: Feb 1, 2022
Internal Fellowship Deadlines
Prospective Student Fellowship: Jan 15, 2022
Continuing Student Fellowship: Jan 15, 2022

Program Contact Information

Primary Program Contacts

Graduate Program Coordinator

Program Coordinator
Maria Ruby
(530) 752-2239 | mruby@ucdavis.edu

Graduate Program Chair

Department Chair
Ana Peluffo
(530) 754-5499 | aopeluffo@ucdavis.edu

Graduate Program Chair
Claudia Sanchez-Gutierrez
chsanchez@ucdavis.edu

Additional Contacts

Program Contacts

Advisor: Primary (Peninsular)
Diana Aramburu
Spanish & Portuguese
daramburu@ucdavis.edu

Advisor: Primary (Linguistics)
Travis Bradley
Spanish & Portuguese
(530) 752-2454 | tgbradley@ucdavis.edu

Advisor: Primary Contact
Michael Lazzara
Spanish & Portuguese
mjlazzara@ucdavis.edu

Advisor: Admissions and Primary Contact
Claudia Sanchez-Gutierrez
Spanish & Portuguese
chsanchez@ucdavis.edu

Graduate Studies Contacts

Internal Fellowship Analyst
Heidi West
(530) 754-9473 | hewest@ucdavis.edu

External Fellowship Analyst
Yvette Garcia
ycgarcia@ucdavis.edu