Sociology

About the Program

Learn More About the Program

The Ph.D. program in Sociology at UC Davis emphasizes rigorous preparation in sociological theory and research methodologies as the basis of sound scholarship. Sociology graduate students are encouraged to begin active research early in their academic careers. Students gain advanced knowledge of collective behavior and social movements; comparative/ historical culture; gender; development; economic sociology; law, deviance and social control; political sociology; social psychology; race and ethnicity, and immigration; and community and urban sociology. Students graduate with the qualitative and quantitative skills necessary for professional research and teaching in sociology.

Degree Type
Departmentally-Based Graduate Program
Degrees Offered
M.A. Plan II
Ph.D. Plan B
Lead Dean

College of Letters and Science


Admissions and Fellowship Information

Admission Deadlines
General: Dec 15, 2021
Internal Fellowship Deadlines
Prospective Student Fellowship: Dec 15, 2021
Continuing Student Fellowship: Jan 15, 2022

Program Contact Information

Primary Program Contacts

Graduate Program Coordinator

Program Coordinator
Jacqueline Leaver
530-752-5015 | jjleaver@ucdavis.edu

Graduate Program Chair

Department Chair
Maxine Craig
(530) 752-8642 | mbcraig@ucdavis.edu

Department Chair
Ryken Grattet
(530) 754-0772 | rtgrattet@ucdavis.edu

Department Chair
Laura Grindstaff
(530) 754-0778 | lagrindstaff@ucdavis.edu

Additional Contacts

Program Contacts

Advisor: General
Maxine Craig
Sociology
(530) 752-8642 | mbcraig@ucdavis.edu

Advisor: General
Ryan Finnigan
Sociology
(530) 754-0783 | rfinnigan@ucdavis.edu

Advisor: Primary Contact
Laura Grindstaff
Sociology
(530) 754-0778 | lagrindstaff@ucdavis.edu

Advisor: General
Erin Hamilton
Sociology
(530) 754-0786 | erhamilton@ucdavis.edu

Advisor: Admissions Only
Jacob Hibel
Sociology
(530) 754-0792 | jhibel@ucdavis.edu

Advisor: General
Stephanie Mudge
Sociology
(530) 754-0785 | slmudge@ucdavis.edu

Advisor: General
Xiaoling Shu
Sociology
(530) 754-0771 | xshu@ucdavis.edu

Graduate Studies Contacts

Internal Fellowship Analyst
Heidi West
(530) 754-9473 | hewest@ucdavis.edu

External Fellowship Analyst
Yvette Garcia
ycgarcia@ucdavis.edu