Pharmacology and Toxicology

About the Program

Learn More About the Program

Students gain advanced knowledge of the effects of chemicals on biological systems. This includes the study of both drugs and toxins and their impact on the environment and ecosystems as well as human and animal health. Areas of research excellence include neurotoxicology and pharmacology, cardiovascular pharmacology, cancer therapeutics, drug discovery, design and development, xenobiotic metabolism, pharmacokinetics, pulmonary toxicology and environmental toxicology. Students graduate with the qualitative and quantitative skills necessary for professional research and teaching in pharmacology and toxicology.

Degree Type
Interdisciplinary Graduate Group
Degrees Offered
M.S. Plan I
M.S. Plan II
Ph.D. Plan B
Lead Dean

College of Agriculture and Environmental Studies

Major Code
GPTX
Exceptions
QE Exception: No outside member needed

Admissions and Fellowship Information

Admission Deadlines
General: Dec 1, 2021
Internal Fellowship Deadlines
Prospective Student Fellowship: Dec 1, 2021
Continuing Student Fellowship: Jan 15, 2022

Program Contact Information

Primary Program Contacts

Graduate Program Coordinator

Program Coordinator
Katharine Moffat
kmoffat@ucdavis.edu

Graduate Program Chair

Graduate Group Chair
Laura Van Winkle
(530) 754-7547 | lsvanwinkle@ucdavis.edu

Additional Contacts

Program Contacts

Advisor: General
Kermit Carraway
Med:Biochem & Molecular Med
(916) 734-3114 | klcarraway@ucdavis.edu

Advisor: General
Xinbin Chen
Vm: Surg/Rad Science
(530) 754-8404 | xbchen@ucdavis.edu

Advisor: General
Elva Diaz
Med:Pharmacology
(530) 754-6080 | ediaz@ucdavis.edu

Advisor: Admissions Only
Heather Knych
CA Animal Hlth&Food Safety Lab
(530) 752-8700 | hkknych@ucdavis.edu

Advisor: Primary Contact
Pamela Lein
Vm: Molecular Bio Sciences
(530) 752-1970 | pjlein@ucdavis.edu

Advisor: General
Lisa Miller
Vm: Anat Physio & Cell Biology
(530) 754-7546 | lmiller@ucdavis.edu

Advisor: General
Robert Poppenga
CA Animal Hlth&Food Safety Lab
(530) 752-8125 | rhpoppenga@ucdavis.edu

Advisor: General
Colleen Sweeney
Med:Biochem & Molecular Med
casweeney@ucdavis.edu

Advisor: Admissions and General
Laura Van Winkle
Vm: Anat Physio & Cell Biology
(530) 754-7547 | lsvanwinkle@ucdavis.edu

Advisor: General
Heike Wulff
Med:Pharmacology
(530) 754-6135 | hwulff@ucdavis.edu

Advisor: General
Aiming Yu
Med:Biochem & Molecular Med
(916) 734-1566 | aimyu@ucdavis.edu