Linguistics

About the Program

Learn More About the Program

Students gain advanced knowledge of structural/theoretical linguistics; second language acquisition and development; bilingualism and multilingualism; and formal and descriptive linguistics. Students graduate with the qualitative and quantitative skills necessary for professional research and teaching in linguistics.

Degree Type
Departmentally-Based Graduate Program
Degrees Offered
M.A. Plan II
Ph.D. Plan B
Lead Dean

College of Letters and Science


Admissions and Fellowship Information

Admission Deadlines
General: Dec 15, 2021
Internal Fellowship Deadlines
Prospective Student Fellowship: Dec 15, 2021
Continuing Student Fellowship: Jan 15, 2022

Program Contact Information

Primary Program Contacts

Graduate Program Coordinator

Program Coordinator
Stephanie Fallas
(530) 752-3464 | sfallas@ucdavis.edu

Graduate Program Chair

Department Chair
Raul Aranovich
(530) 752-2291 | raranovich@ucdavis.edu

Graduate Program Chair
Kenji Sagae
sagae@ucdavis.edu

Additional Contacts

Program Contacts

Advisor: General
Santiago Barreda-Castanon
Linguistics
530-754-0995 | sbarreda@ucdavis.edu

Advisor: General
Vaidehi Ramanathan-Abbott
Linguistics
(530) 752-0191 | vramanathan@ucdavis.edu

Advisor: Admissions Only
Kenji Sagae
Linguistics
(530) 564-6216 | sagae@ucdavis.edu

Graduate Studies Contacts

Internal Fellowship Analyst
Heidi West
(530) 754-9473 | hewest@ucdavis.edu

External Fellowship Analyst
Yvette Garcia
ycgarcia@ucdavis.edu