Horticulture and Agronomy

About the Program

Learn More About the Program

Students gain advanced knowledge of Plant Science in one or more of the following areas: agroecology; biotechnology; breeding and crop improvement; crop physiology and production; mineral nutrition; modeling and quantitative horticulture; pest management; plant growth and development; postharvest physiology; revegetation and restoration; and water relations. Students graduate with the qualitative and quantitative skills necessary for professional research and teaching in one or more of the following areas: agroecology, crop improvement; postharvest handling of horticultural commodities; and the production, management and utilization of horticultural and agronomic plants.

Degree Type
Interdisciplinary Graduate Group
Degrees Offered
M.S. Plan I
M.S. Plan II
Ph.D. Plan B
Lead Dean

College of Agriculture and Environmental Studies

Major Code
GHAG
Exceptions
S/U Exception

Admissions and Fellowship Information

Admission Deadlines
Priority: Jan 5, 2022
General: Mar 15, 2022
Space Available: May 1, 2022
Internal Fellowship Deadlines
Prospective Student Fellowship: Jan 5, 2022
Continuing Student Fellowship: Jan 15, 2022

Program Contact Information

Primary Program Contacts

Graduate Program Coordinator

Program Coordinator
Lisa Brown
(530) 752-7738 | lfbrown@ucdavis.edu

Graduate Program Chair

Graduate Group Chair
Astrid Volder
avolder@ucdavis.edu

Additional Contacts

Program Contacts

Advisor: General
Diane Beckles
Plant Sciences
(530) 754-4779 | dmbeckles@ucdavis.edu

Advisor: General
Kent Bradford
Plant Sciences
(530) 752-6087 | kjbradford@ucdavis.edu

Advisor: General
Patrick Brown
Plant Sciences
pjbrown@ucdavis.edu

Advisor: General
Edward Brummer
Plant Sciences
(530) 752-9261 | ecbrummer@ucdavis.edu

Advisor: General
Dario Cantu
Viticulture & Enology
(530) 752-2929 | dacantu@ucdavis.edu

Advisor: General
Theodore Dejong
Plant Sciences
(530) 752-1843 | tmdejong@ucdavis.edu

Advisor: General
Richard Evans
Plant Sciences
(530) 752-6617 | ryevans@ucdavis.edu

Advisor: General
Amelie Gaudin
Plant Sciences
agaudin@ucdavis.edu

Advisor: General
Paul Gepts
Plant Sciences
(530) 752-7743 | plgepts@ucdavis.edu

Advisor: General
Matthew Gilbert
Plant Sciences
(530) 752-7846 | megilbert@ucdavis.edu

Advisor: General
Thomas Gradziel
Plant Sciences
(530) 752-1575 | tmgradziel@ucdavis.edu

Advisor: General
Brad Hanson
Anr Plant Sciences
(530) 752-8115 | bhanson@ucdavis.edu

Advisor: General
Bruce Linquist
Anr Plant Sciences
(530) 752-3125 | balinquist@ucdavis.edu

Advisor: General
Maeli Melotto
Plant Sciences
530-752-1747 | melotto@ucdavis.edu

Advisor: General
Elizabeth Mitcham
Anr Plant Sciences
(530) 752-7512 | ejmitcham@ucdavis.edu

Advisor: General
Cameron Pittelkow
Plant Sciences
(530) 752-0433 | cpittelkow@ucdavis.edu

Advisor: General
Leslie Roche
Anr Plant Sciences
(530) 752-5583 | lmroche@ucdavis.edu

Advisor: General
Li Tian
Plant Sciences
(530) 752-0940 | ltian@ucdavis.edu

Advisor: General
Allen Van Deynze
Plant Sciences
(530) 754-6444 | avandeynze@ucdavis.edu

Advisor: Admissions and Primary Contact
Astrid Volder
Plant Sciences
(530) 752-8527 | avolder@ucdavis.edu

Advisor: General
Andrew Walker
Viticulture & Enology
(530) 752-0902 | awalker@ucdavis.edu

Advisor: General
Maciej Zwieniecki
Plant Sciences
(530) 752-9880 | mzwienie@ucdavis.edu