Food Science

About the Program

Learn More About the Program

Students gain advanced knowledge of the application of biological, chemical, physical and behavioral sciences to the processing, preservation, quality evaluation, public health aspects, and utilization of foods. Students graduate with the qualitative and quantitative skills necessary for professional research and teaching in food science with an emphasis in biochemistry/chemistry, microbiology/fermentation and sensory sciences.

Degree Type
Interdisciplinary Graduate Group
Degrees Offered
M.S. Plan I
M.S. Plan II
Ph.D. Plan B
Lead Dean

College of Agriculture and Environmental Studies

Major Code
GFSC

Admissions and Fellowship Information

Admission Deadlines
General: Dec 1, 2022
Internal Fellowship Deadlines
Prospective Student Fellowship: Dec 1, 2022
Continuing Student Fellowship: Jan 15, 2023

Program Contact Information

Primary Program Contacts

Graduate Program Coordinator

Program Coordinator
Jordan Dade
(530) 752-8009 | jwdade@ucdavis.edu

Graduate Program Chair

Graduate Group Chair
Maria Marco
(530) 574-4893 | mmarco@ucdavis.edu

Additional Contacts

Program Contacts

Advisor: Admissions Only
Gail Bornhorst
Biological & Ag Engineering
(530) 752-9329 | gbornhorst@ucdavis.edu

Advisor: General
Julien Delarue
Food Science & Technology
jdelarue@ucdavis.edu

Advisor: General
Stephanie Dungan
Food Science & Technology
(530) 752-5447 | srdungan@ucdavis.edu

Advisor: General
Glen Fox
Food Science & Technology
gpfox@ucdavis.edu

Advisor: Primary Contact
Maria Marco
Food Science & Technology
(530) 752-1516 | mmarco@ucdavis.edu

Advisor: General
David Mills
Viticulture & Enology
(530) 754-7821 | damills@ucdavis.edu

Advisor: General
Alyson Mitchell
Food Science & Technology
(530) 304-6618 | aemitchell@ucdavis.edu

Advisor: Admissions Only
Ameer Taha
Food Science & Technology
(530) 752-7096 | ataha@ucdavis.edu

Advisor: General
Luxin Wang
Food Science & Technology
lxwang@ucdavis.edu