English

About the Program

Learn More About the Program

Students gain advanced knowledge of literature from the British Middle Ages and colonial America to global/postcolonial and U.S. contemporary, as well as knowledge of literary theory, literary analysis, and interdisciplinary methods. The course of study balances coverage of national literary traditions with innovative methods and topics such as literature and science; literature and environment; translation; gender and sexuality studies; and race studies. Students graduate with the qualitative and quantitative skills necessary for professional research and teaching in English, or demonstrated skill in creative writing for careers as professional writers. There is an option to complete an MA in literature, but it is not a stand-alone program.

Degree Type
Departmentally-Based Graduate Program
Degrees Offered
M.A. Plan I
Ph.D. Plan B
Lead Dean

College of Letters and Science


Admissions and Fellowship Information

Admission Deadlines
General: Jan 5, 2022
Internal Fellowship Deadlines
Prospective Student Fellowship: Jan 5, 2022
Continuing Student Fellowship: Jan 15, 2022

Program Contact Information

Primary Program Contacts

Graduate Program Coordinator

Program Coordinator
Aaron Barstow
(530) 752-2738 | ambarstow@ucdavis.edu

Graduate Program Chair

Graduate Program Chair
Hsuan Hsu
(530) 752-1696 | hlhsu@ucdavis.edu

Department Chair
Claire Waters
(530) 752-9349 | cmwaters@ucdavis.edu

Additional Contacts

Program Contacts

Advisor: General
Pamela Houston
English
(530) 752-3334 | plhouston@ucdavis.edu

Advisor: Admissions and Primary Contact
Hsuan Hsu
English
(530) 752-1696 | hlhsu@ucdavis.edu

Advisor: General
Katie Peterson
English
(530) 752-1696 | kpeterson@ucdavis.edu

Advisor: General
Claire Waters
English
(530) 752-9349 | cmwaters@ucdavis.edu

Graduate Studies Contacts

Internal Fellowship Analyst
Heidi West
(530) 754-9473 | hewest@ucdavis.edu

External Fellowship Analyst
Yvette Garcia
ycgarcia@ucdavis.edu