Ecology

About the Program

Learn More About the Program

Students gain advanced knowledge in one of the following areas: agricultural ecology; conservation ecology; ecological genomics and genetics; ecosystems and landscape ecology; ecotoxicology; environmental policy & human ecology; integrative ecology; marine ecology; physiological ecology; or restoration ecology. Students graduate with the qualitative and quantitative skills necessary for professional research and teaching in ecological theory and its applications.

Degree Type
Interdisciplinary Graduate Group
Degrees Offered
M.S. Plan I
M.S. Plan II
Ph.D. Plan B
Lead Dean

College of Agriculture and Environmental Studies

Major Code
GECL
Exceptions
QE Exception: No outside member needed

Admissions and Fellowship Information

Admission Deadlines
General: Dec 1, 2022
Internal Fellowship Deadlines
Prospective Student Fellowship: Dec 1, 2022
Continuing Student Fellowship: Jan 15, 2023

Program Contact Information

Primary Program Contacts

Graduate Program Coordinator

Program Coordinator
JoAnna Lewis
jrlewis@ucdavis.edu

Graduate Program Chair

Graduate Group Chair
Brian Gaylord
bpgaylord@ucdavis.edu

Additional Contacts

Program Contacts

Advisor: General
Valerie Eviner
Plant Sciences
(530) 752-8538 | veviner@ucdavis.edu

Advisor: General
Nann Fangue
Wildlife & Fisheries Biology
nafangue@ucdavis.edu

Advisor: Primary Contact
Janet Foley
Vm: Medicine & Epidemiology
(530) 754-9740 | jefoley@ucdavis.edu

Advisor: General
Edwin Grosholz
Environmental Science & Policy
(530) 752-9151 | tedgrosholz@ucdavis.edu

Advisor: Admissions Only
Daniel Karp
Wildlife & Fisheries Biology
dkarp@ucdavis.edu

Advisor: General
Gregory Pasternack
Land Air & Water Resources
(530) 302-5658 | gpast@ucdavis.edu

Advisor: Admissions Only
Steven Sadro
Environmental Science & Policy
ssadro@ucdavis.edu

Advisor: General
Anne Todgham
Animal Science
(530) 752-1897 | todgham@ucdavis.edu

Advisor: General
Dirk Van Vuren
Wildlife & Fisheries Biology
(530) 752-4181 | dhvanvuren@ucdavis.edu

Advisor: General
Andrew Whitehead
Environmental Toxicology
(530) 754-8982 | awhitehead@ucdavis.edu

Advisor: General
Neal Williams
Entomology/Nematology
nmwilliams@ucdavis.edu

Advisor: General
Louie Yang
Entomology/Nematology
(530) 754-3261 | lhyang@ucdavis.edu