Chemistry

About the Program

Learn More About the Program

Our program has over 200 graduate students engaging in research across six areas of study: analytical, chemical biology, inorganic, organic, physical, and chemical physics. We encourage and support graduate research that transcends traditional academic boundaries by bringing together faculty from departments across campus, including the School of Medicine, College of Engineering, College of Biological Sciences and the Genome Center. Students pursuing their Ph.D. receive a competitive salary, tuition and fees paid for and comprehensive health insurance.

Degree Type
Departmentally-Based Graduate Program
Degrees Offered
M.S. Plan I
Ph.D. Plan B
Lead Dean

College of Letters and Science

Major Code
GCHE

Admissions and Fellowship Information

Admission Deadlines
General: Dec 1, 2021
Space Available: May 1, 2022
Internal Fellowship Deadlines
Prospective Student Fellowship: Dec 1, 2021
Continuing Student Fellowship: Jan 15, 2022

Program Contact Information

Primary Program Contacts

Graduate Program Coordinator

Program Coordinator
Emily Atkinson
(530) 752-0953 | eeatkinson@ucdavis.edu

Graduate Program Chair

Department Chair
Jared Shaw
(530) 752-0504 | jtshaw@ucdavis.edu

Graduate Program Chair
Andrew Fisher
(530) 754-6180 | ajfisher@ucdavis.edu

Additional Contacts

Program Contacts

Advisor: General
Alan Balch
Chemistry
(530) 752-0941 | albalch@ucdavis.edu

Advisor: Admissions and Primary Contact
Andrew Fisher
Chemistry
(530) 754-6180 | ajfisher@ucdavis.edu

Advisor: General
Gang-Yu Liu
Chemistry
(530) 754-9678 | gyliu@ucdavis.edu

Advisor: General
Xi Chen
Chemistry
(530) 754-6037 | xiichen@ucdavis.edu

Advisor: General
Dean Tantillo
Chemistry
(530) 754-5635 | djtantillo@ucdavis.edu

Advisor: General
James Ames
Chemistry
(530) 752-6358 | jbames@ucdavis.edu

Advisor: General
Sheila David
Chemistry
(530) 752-4280 | ssdavid@ucdavis.edu

Advisor: General
Annaliese Franz
Chemistry
(530) 752-9820 | akfranz@ucdavis.edu

Advisor: General
Kyle Crabtree
Chemistry
(530) 752-6024 | kncrabtree@ucdavis.edu

Advisor: Admissions Only
David Olson
Chemistry
deolson@ucdavis.edu

Graduate Studies Contacts

Internal Fellowship Analyst
Heidi West
(530) 754-9473 | hewest@ucdavis.edu

External Fellowship Analyst
Yvette Garcia
ycgarcia@ucdavis.edu